CHAMBER Orchestra

Violin I

Amy Ying leader

Katie Jankinson

Alex Down

Clara Falkowska

Dohyun Kim

Elizabeth Kearney

Violin II

Millie Harding principal

Alexander Lee

Sonia Bae

Julian Adler

Beth Zheng

Mollie Lewis


Laura Cooper principal

Charlotte Sasse

David Millross

Anna Davey


Gabriel Francis-Dehqani principal

Lizzie Orr

Alex Acomb

Sophie Baxter


Elen Clarke principal

Elizabeth McCauley


Jonathan Blake principal

Alex Milne


Matthew Pearson principal

Josh Ward


Thomas Feild principal

Samuel Napier-Smith

French Horn

Oonagh Taylor principal

Charlotte Smith


Alex Cooke principal

Martha Dean


Luca Lorenzini principal

Zein Checri

Natalie Houlston

Double Bass

Nathanael Thomas-Atkin principal

Anna Kendall






Gabriel is in his third year at University College, Durham where he reads music. He began playing the cello aged 7 after being selected for a year of council run group lessons in Oakham, where he lived until 2018. He passed his Grade 8 with distinction aged 13. After 9 years of local tuition, Gabriel was accepted as a private student of Guy Johnston at the Royal Academy of Music in London. Having been at a state school in Peterborough until 16, Gabriel was awarded a fully funded music scholarship to study at Eton College as the ‘Andrew Lloyd Webber’ scholar where he was taught cello by Sue Lowe, with whom he continues to have lessons.

Gabriel has been a member of NCO (National Children’s Orchestra), NSSO (National School’s Symphony Orchestra), AYM (Aldeburgh Young Musicians) and BSA (Britten Sinfonia Academy) as well as several county youth orchestras. During his time with AYM, Gabriel acquired experience in both conducting and leadership. He has participated in conducting masterclasses with Jessica Cottis and Catherine Larsen-Maguire, rehearsing and performing passages from Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring and Beethoven’s 7th Symphony. He has also had the opportunity to collaborate with conductor Marin Alsop, providing invaluable insight into the rehearsal technique of great leaders. 


Gabriel is also a composer having studied composition with Jonathan Woolgar and Frederick Viner. He achieved 1st and 2nd prize in the Windsor School’s Composition Competition in 2017 as well as composing the original score for Eton College’s production of Othello and a short piece for Canterbury Cathedral choir. He has participated in masterclasses with composers such as Phillip Cashian, John Woolrich and Charlotte Bray. Gabriel has also conducted rehearsals, workshops and premiers of his own music.


Gabriel has served as principal cellist of DUOS’ Symphony and Chamber Orchestras as well as making his concerto debut with the Chamber Orchestra in 2019. He has performed as part of the ‘Durham Piano Quintet’ and ‘Patchwork Ensemble’. He greatly looks forward to the privilege and challenge of working with DUOS chamber in the coming academic year.